What about our ruleset is actually good for our game now?

A little background.

I LOVE foam LARP. I have been playing nonstop for 21 years under Alliance (and its pre-split parent NERO). I have also played 7 other foam larp games during that time. As well as some non-foam stuff.

I LOVE foam LARP. I LOVE Alliance. That's why I still play.

I think our current ruleset is overall NOT good. I have played worse, but I have also played better (or seen parts of systems that are better). We keep saying that the rules were never designed for the game at the level it is currently at.

I read elegant suggestions to make the game better, and then the inevitable "it is too big a change" to make rears its ugly (and reasonable) head.

So dream with me dreamers, and lets talk about what in our current system we would keep if we could recreate the whole thing using all that we have learned about in the history of this game and from our own personal experience. Here's my list-

A non-hit location combat system with a HP structure. It's fun, fast, and as I view combat as an abstraction it is totally my cup of tea.

A combat system that has skills to it to give advantage to people who chose to take those skills/are higher level. I have played tap based/non- damage call systems. I am a pretty solid fighter. As a lvl 1 character (with a polearm) I was able to embarrass a lvl 14 Chosen Avatar of War (PC). I also worked with two friends to kill a apl 50+ monster (three polearms are good!).

A vancian spell casting system. Levels/Slots. Tried a mana system, but I prefer what we got.

Waylay. All day all the time.

Packet Archery. Real bows hit me in the junk.

An interesting/complex ritual system. Maybe not what we have, but something similar.

Our races. They are neat, and I like them.