Newbie here

Ok, I'm not used to being the new person on the block anymore but I was interested enough in the idea of this game that I figured I'd be one again. Hello out there to all you peoples, I have absolutely no experience LARPing, I've never even tried out Vampire The Masquerade or any Live Action Role Playing. Now what started me looking at the site was something that I might, in the future, be doing with my son. He's only six at the moment and I know that he's not allowed to play at all but like I said there's always the future. Ok ok, I'll admit it simply looked like fun as well. Now that all said I was wondering how many people usually show up at the weekend events or even the one day events and how many people are members. I ask because I'm kinda hoping for a big group :) If you haven't noticed by now I tend to ramble just a little sometimes but i promise I'm a good guy. Now I know I need to buy the rulebook and all but is there anything else I need in order to join? Would I be able to visit an event and see how everything goes and whether I would fit in? Thanks for the time guys :)

First of all, welcome. I can't answer everything because I've only been to one Seattle event, and I'm no good with estimating numbers besides, but I'll do what I can.

As far as visiting to see if you'd fit in, as a recent newbie myself, I'd recommend just jumping in. There's no better way to see than from the inside, and if you can swing a weekend-long event, they're where it's at. The staff is friendly, and the veteran players are usually willing to help with any confusion. If you don't want to commit the costuming, prepwork, and finances to be a PC, they're always happy to have NPCs, where all you need to bring is yourself and a couple changes of black clothes.