Starting with the launch of the 2.0 ruleset, Magic Items changed from having an Expiration Date to having a number of Charges before they stop being usable, which was neat! It helped players that didn't play very often not have all their stuff go inert by the time they returned to games, as well as let players choose what items to use at an event while leaving some items at home to save the duration for later, etc. However, the change from Expirations to Charges ends up with a few rituals that function a little weird in that regard. Namely, rituals that are on a character's Body, Spirit, or item that is Spirit Linked/Locked/Looped.
In the old days, these effects went by Expiration, so they were just always active until that date, so your character always had them if that date hadn't hit yet. Simple stuff. With the new Charge-based system, however, it gets a little murkier whether or not a character can voluntarily have these rituals "on" or "off" based on whether or not they register a tag and deduct the charges from it. So:
Question 1: Is a player required to register (and therefore deduct duration from, be subject to ritual limits as appropriate, etc.) ritual effects on their character's Body, Spirit, and/or items that are Spirit Linked/Locked/Looped/etc., or can they choose to not have those tags "active" for the event, not register them, and thus not have those effects/items present?
Question 2: If the answer to Question 1 is Yes, what happens in the circumstance where a player has more than 20 out-of-chapter LCO rituals on Spirit/Links/Locks/Loops/etc. and wants to play at a chapter? Example: Imagine I have 100 LCO Rituals (between my Spirit and a few Permanent items) from the Hawaii chapter, and I go to attend an event at the Alaska chapter. By national policy, chapters only accept 20 rituals of out-of-chapter LCO rituals, but Question 1 says that I'm required to have all 100 my Spirit/Permanent rituals. What happens?
In the old days, these effects went by Expiration, so they were just always active until that date, so your character always had them if that date hadn't hit yet. Simple stuff. With the new Charge-based system, however, it gets a little murkier whether or not a character can voluntarily have these rituals "on" or "off" based on whether or not they register a tag and deduct the charges from it. So:
Question 1: Is a player required to register (and therefore deduct duration from, be subject to ritual limits as appropriate, etc.) ritual effects on their character's Body, Spirit, and/or items that are Spirit Linked/Locked/Looped/etc., or can they choose to not have those tags "active" for the event, not register them, and thus not have those effects/items present?
Question 2: If the answer to Question 1 is Yes, what happens in the circumstance where a player has more than 20 out-of-chapter LCO rituals on Spirit/Links/Locks/Loops/etc. and wants to play at a chapter? Example: Imagine I have 100 LCO Rituals (between my Spirit and a few Permanent items) from the Hawaii chapter, and I go to attend an event at the Alaska chapter. By national policy, chapters only accept 20 rituals of out-of-chapter LCO rituals, but Question 1 says that I'm required to have all 100 my Spirit/Permanent rituals. What happens?